Internet & Electronic Resources
Reference, Collections, Services
Community Libraries
For Children
Servicios En Espanol
Public Technology Center
Programs and Exhibits
About the Library
Greater Newark Community

Photos from the 2006 Booked for the Evening Library Gala
November 9, 2006

The Newark Public Library paid tribute to Charles F. Cummings, the late Newark City Historian and assistant director of the Library’s Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center, and to Dr. Olga J. Wagenheim, Professor Emerita in History at Rutgers University, Newark Campus, at its 2006 Booked for the Evening gala dinner.

Independence Community Foundation also received special recognition for its foundation support. The event was held on Thursday, November 9, 2006 at Nanina’s in the Park in Belleville, with Ralph A. LaRossa, President and CEO of PSE&G, as the dinner chairman.

Gold sponsors of the event were IDT Corporation; PSE&G; and Verizon New Jersey. The MCJ Foundation was a silver sponsor, with Cogswell Realty Group, LLC; Gibbons, Del Deo, Dolan, Griffinger & Vecchione; the New Jersey Devils; and Prudential Financial, Inc. as bronze sponsors.

Steve Adubato, Caucus New Jersey, with Wilma Grey, Library Director, and Sam Delgado, Vice President of Community & Stakeholder Affairs, Verizon New Jersey

Ralph LaRossa, President and CEO, PSE&G with
President’s Award honoree Olga Wagenheim


Donald Karp, Esq., former Vice Chairman of the Board,
Independence Commmunity Bank with
Marilyn Gelber, Executive Director, Independence Community Foundation


Robert Steinbaum and Timothy Crist, Library Trustee, with Warren Grover

Patricia Curvin and Mildred Crump, Newark Municipal Council President

Trish Morris-Yamba, President, Library Board of Trustees and Marion O'Neill, Manager-Corporate Contributions, PSE&G

Robert Curvin and Paul St. Onge, Esq., Gibbons, Del Deo,
Dolan, Griffinger & Vecchione


Board President Trish Morris-Yamba, with Marilyn Gelber of Independence Community Foundation and Wilma Grey, Library Director

Back row (from left), Mary Sue Sweeney Price of the Newark Museum, with board members Dr. Clement Price, Tim Crist, Al Coutinho, Joe Yeadon. Front row (from left), Gayle Griffin, Debbie Salas-Lopez and Trish Morris-Yamba

President's Award Honoree Dr. Olga Wagenheim
with David and Kal Wagenheim



Photo credits: The Newark Public Library


Internet & Electronic Resources | Catalog | Collections & Services | Community Libraries | For Children | Servicios en Español | Public Technology Center | Programs and Exhibits | News | About the Library | Greater Newark Community

©2006 The Newark Public Library
5 Washington Street
Newark, NJ 07101