NPL Logo   Second Century Header
Volume 11 Number 3, Fall 2000
In This Issue:

IDT Reading Rewards

N.J. Center gets 3 grants

The Director’s Journal

Library on TV

Library revives Lorraine Hansberry Lecture Series

Treasures of the Library

Hispanic Heritage celebration

Hispanic Heritage Celebration Events

La Sala Hispanoamericana

Library Hours

Spanish/Bilingual Database

It's at your fingertips

What Do I Read Next?


Corky at SRC kickoff

SeniorSurf Success Stories

Book Sale Volunteers

Friends of The Newark Public Library


The Library revived the Lorraine Hansberry Lecture Series in May. The program honored Lloyd Richards, director of the original production of Hansberry’s A Raisin in the Sun. Edna Bailey and Celeste Bateman served as co-chairs; Harold Scott, the 1995 recipient of the Lloyd Richards Director’s Award, was honorary chair. Pictured are Amiri Baraka, noted literary figure; Dr. Alex Boyd, Library Director; and Harold Scott. Because of ill health, Mr. Richards was unable to attend.

Address all correspondence to:
The Second Century
The Newark Public Library
5 Washington Street
P.O. Box 630
Newark, New Jersey 07101-0630
Telephone 973-733-7793


Copyright 2000 The Newark Public Library